Program Committee Election

Please help choose citizen members for the Humanities Council Program Committee. The Program Committee oversees all direct programs and grants of the Humanities Council. This includes reviewing grant applications and making funding recommendations to the Humanities Council board of directors. Your vote gives the public a voice in our grants and program decisions. Review the candidates below, then visit the online ballot to make your choices. Vote for no more than three of the candidates below:


Charlie Delauder, Tyler County, is a retired teacher and former Mayor of Middlebourne. Charlie is a graduate of Alderson Broaddus College and West Virginia University. He served on the Foundation for the Improvement of Public Education and as president of the West Virginia Education Association. He previously served on the Tyler County Building Commission and owned a small construction business specializing in home remodeling. Charlie served on the Humanities Council Board of Directors from 2014 to 2020.


Tamara Denmark Bailey, Upshur County, is an associate professor at West Virginia Wesleyan College, primarily teaching U.S. History survey courses, African-American History, African History, and World History. Her teaching subfields include International Organizations, African Politics, and Migration Studies. She is the coordinator of Wesleyan Abroad, where she oversees study abroad experiences and allocates scholarships. Under her leadership, students have traveled to twenty different countries, including the Czech Republic, Ecuador, Ghana, Kenya, Rwanda, Russia, Thailand, and The Netherlands. Recent presentations include Ancella Bickley: "The Life of West Virginia's First Black Woman Historian” for Marshall University's Black Appalachian History Honors Course, “Implementing Brown: Memphis Tennessee Garrison's Grassroots Approach to Integrating West Virginia” for the WV Humanities Council, and "The Exception to the Rule: How Black Female Suffrage in West Virginia Defied the Jim Crow South" for West Virginia Wesleyan College.


Savannah Schroll Guz, Hancock County, is former president and executive director of the Weirton Area Museum & Cultural Center. In 2020, Guz represented the state of West Virginia in the national Her Flag project, which celebrated the centennial of the 19th Amendment’s ratification. Guz recently completed a National Register of Historic Places nomination for the Dunbar Recreation Center and is currently working on a documentary about the Pittsburgh & Weirton Bus line. Guz formerly worked at the Smithsonian Institution Libraries, and she was a 1997-98 Fulbright Scholar in Germany.


William King, Randolph County, teaches creative writing and literature at Davis & Elkins College in Elkins where he also chairs the Humanities Division. Bill grew up in the Blue Ridge Mountains of southwestern Virginia, and holds an M.A. in Creative Writing and a Ph.D. in Literature from the University of Georgia. He is the 2021 Heartwood Poetry Prize winner and a Pushcart Prize nominee who has been published many journals and anthologies, including The Cincinnati Review, 100 Word Story, Kestrel, and Appalachian Review. His chapbook, from Finishing Line Press, is The Letting Go (2018). His first full-length poetry collection, Bloodroot, will be released in 2023 (Mercer University Press).


Ryan Krofcheck, Pocahontas County, studied journalism at WVU with an emphasis in advertising and business, which he uses as a digital marketing specialist at Snowshoe Mountain Resort. He is also a lover of the Mountain State’s folk arts. His latest work, The Opera House Story Sessions, brings traditional musicians into the Pocahontas County Opera House for a performance and interview. These sessions are then broken out into podcasts, videos, and digital streaming services. He has been a nationally touring musician with Fletcher's Grove, 18 Strings, and other performing groups throughout his life. Growing up, he was a music student, studying voice and guitar.


Roger May, Lincoln County, is operations director at Appalshop, a media, arts, and education center, and a Alum Creek-based photographer and writer. He created and directs the crowdsourced Looking at Appalachia project, which challenges the historical visual stereotypes of the region. He serves on the Steering Committee of the Appalachian Studies Association and is co-chair of the Communications Committee. He is a Program Committee incumbent and eligible for re-election.


Mark Swiger, Ohio County, is a career educator and director of Energy Express, a child literacy, nutrition, and national service program for West Virginia University Extension Service. Mark is a co-founding board member for the U.S. Green Building Council, West Virginia Chapter, and was a founding board member for Create West Virginia. He has been a department chair in social sciences in Marshall County Schools, and served the district as the sustainability contact for the U.S. Department of Education’s National Green Ribbon Schools program. Mark has also taught as an adjunct faculty member at both West Liberty University and Bethany College in both Appalachian History and Physical and Cultural Geography. He served as National Chair for Green Schools Committees for the U.S. Green Building Council’s Center for Green Schools, and served on the White House Climate Education and Literacy Roundtable in 2015.



Cast your vote by March 7.